Posted in gender equality

In the Name of…Feminism?

 

I’m a feminist because I believe that women and men are equal.

I’m a feminist because I believe that male rape victims should receive the same support and awareness as their female counterparts.

I’m a feminist because I don’t believe in the slut shaming of women or the pressure exerted on men to “grow some balls”.

The dictionary definition of the term is this: “the theory of the political, economic, and social equality of the sexes”. So why, why, has the term become a derogatory phrase used towards anyone advocating gender fairness?

It seems to me that the word has become associated with the idea of women’s rights overruling the rights of men-somehow being asserted above those of the opposite gender. This, however, couldn’t be further from the truth-and those who do advocate female supremacy have misunderstood the cause they are fighting for. For many, the imagery of stern, man-hating women comes to mind-who, according to one man I recently had the misfortune of debating with, claimed “needed to be turned by him.”

The term equality doesn’t necessarily have to imply that two groups of people are the same: more accurately, simply acknowledging and appreciating both parties for their different characteristics and skill sets. Every heard the phrase “Men are from Mars, and women are from Venus”? This is not a concept that I have absolute, unquestioning faith in as I believe that gender and gender identity are a complex mix of genetics and social construct, and we are far too ill-informed to make such prolific assumptions about our fundamental differences.

Evidently, men and women do have recognisable dissimilarities. But regardless of our origins, both sexes live on planet Earth. It is therefore essential to complement and try to gain a deeper understanding of one another.

Women have periods and sometimes men don’t appreciate the difficulty of day to day life for those who menstruate, or lack sensitivity. Men are emasculated for showing emotion in public-and often other men, as well as women, humiliate them as a result.

If we are to progress any further as a race, this needs to end.

We are all emotional asylum seekers, and it is our duty to offer the opposite sex refuge from the hardships they face. Over 130 million women living in the world today have undergone Female Genital Mutilation, 24,000 of whom live in the UK. It is thought that male suicide rates are currently more than three times higher at 18.2 male deaths compared with 5.2 female deaths per 100,000 population.

This needs to change.

There is no battle of the sexes; we are all soldiers of the same army, and it’s about time the negative connotations of the word “feminist” were laid to rest.

However, I think that, ultimately, the most constructive and productive thing to do would be to completely eradicate the term. This may seem contradictory, but I fundamentally believe that the terms is flawed and outdated-the emphasis on “fem” suggests a bias, a air of superiority. Although the meaning must stay the same, we need to change our wording:
So, conclusively, I write this in the name of Gender Equality.

 

 

 

 

Source: In the Name of…Feminism?

Author:

I am PhD. in Psychology, a PGDM in HR, hold a certificate in Child Guidance and Counsel ling and a writer, not necessarily in that order. My work experience includes teaching MBA students in Usha Martin and Amity Colleges in Patna and teaching Psychology in various college of Patna to B.A. and M.A. students and to law students in Swami Vivekanand law College in Lucknow. I've also taught primary school students in DPS, Dhanbad. I got married at the age of 19, in my first year of BA Psychology Hons. I finished my studies and developed my interest in women and children studies in India. My thesis is about the urban, educated Indian women. I have written Hindi articles for Hindustan, Dhanbad and the MA Psychology study course for Nalanda Open University in Patna. My interest in writing is something that happened subconsciously. But lately, after having written deep, psychological and spiritual articles and having produced books for Post Graduate Psychology students, I realized how much I love writing for children. I find it refreshing and heartening to write about their innocence, faith, fears and fearlessness. My two daughters have grown on a staple diet of magic and fairy tales and I must confess that I have enjoyed their childhood perhaps more than they did themselves. I wish to keep writing for these little people who are the bright future of our country, our civilization and our world.

47 thoughts on “In the Name of…Feminism?

  1. Dear Rekhasahay, this is the most important message you are sending out with this post, I wish the entire world would read and understand the real truth and meaning of it. Your and our voice as women need to be heard!!! I am supporting you in any way in can do.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think that so called men-hater women should not be scolded so much. Actually feminism is a war of independence. Have you ever seen nations loving their oppressors? It is quite a difficult situation, which highlights the differences between femal and male characters.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice post. Looks like the majority of your supporters are men 🙂
    It’s unbelievable but is truth – women are more “male chauvinist” than men. Of course, not all women but the media and society gave us only this blind side to show for us instead of teach us or show for us more balance or equilibrium.
    Almost 60% of the population of the world is made of women. And it’s true when you said about the mortality rate of men being increased each year. And we are not talking about and neither counting the minority of humanity formed by men and women LGBTQ.
    I like the utopia answer that Madonna’s said about the feminism and feminist movement (I believe there are some differences in the package but the flour is the same) – “Women don’t like women. Women are more interested in take care of their husbands and children”. Nothing is more unreal. If was as she says maybe we could not live anymore in a world full of labels between men and women.
    The hard truth is that children pass the majority of their childhood and teenage years under the care of their mothers. So I believe that “male chauvinist” can find it’s own origins among the female population around the whole world. Of course, the matter here is not simplify this sadly reality and point the finger in someone. Humanity took hundreds of thousands of years to discover that the Earth is not the center of the universe. More some hundreds of centuries to discover that the planet Earth isn’t square but round. At this point I don’t know if we or our descendants will see so soon some progress about the subject of this post. But I’m looking forward to see some little improvements. All what I have is hope in this ocean of ignorance, voluntary blindness, cruelty and maleficence.

    ps – Don’t need write “thank you”. Lets continue with our integrity and honesty intact. 🙂

    Like

  4. What an excellent post! Indeed feminism doesn’t mean greater power to women over men, it means equality of treatment. There will Alesha be inherent differences between the two sexes but we must fight for a parity of views.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

